top of page

Bürgerengagement

Eine bewusste, vorbereitete und engagierte Gemeinschaft ist widerstandsfähig und wird den Sturm jeder Katastrophe besser überstehen.

Die Jefferson County EMA ermutigt Sie zusammen mit allen unseren Regierungs- und Nichtregierungspartnern, sich für die öffentliche Sicherheit zu engagieren. Keine Regierung kann jeden Bürger vorbereiten und schützen, deshalb ist es Ihre Aufgabe, sich und Ihre Familie zu engagieren. Sie machen sich die Mühe; wir können helfen.

CERT ist ein 24-Stunden-Zertifizierungskurs mit Unterricht in allgemeiner Vorbereitung, medizinischem Katastropheneinsatz, Brandschutz und -unterdrückung, leichter Suche und Rettung, Katastrophenpsychologie und Terrorismus. Dieser Kurs findet normalerweise zwei Monate lang an einem Abend in der Woche statt und bereitet Sie darauf vor, Teil der Lösung zu sein, wenn eine Katastrophe eintritt.

Freiwillige Feuerwehrleute sind die unbesungenen Helden unserer Gemeinden.  Der größte Teil des nicht eingemeindeten Jefferson County wird entweder ausschließlich von ehrenamtlichen Feuerwehrleuten oder von einer Kombination aus freiwilligen und bezahlten Feuerwehrleuten versorgt. Es ist diese Gruppe von Ersthelfern, die zwischen Ihnen und der Katastrophe stehen und Ihre Hilfe brauchen.

Im Notfall möchten Sie über mehrere Möglichkeiten verfügen, wichtige und zeitnahe Informationen zu erhalten. In Jefferson County haben wir genau das.  Ob über unser Massenbenachrichtigungssystem (Everbridge), Warnsirenen im Freien, soziale Medien oder andere Alarme – wir stellen sicher, dass Sie die Informationen erhalten, die Sie für eine fundierte Entscheidung benötigen.

Die Gruppe „Voluntary Organizations Active in Disasters“ (VOAD) ist ein Konsortium aus gemeinnützigen und gemeinnützigen Unternehmen, Agenturen, kommunalen Aktionsgruppen und anderen. Ziel dieser Gruppe ist es, zusammenzuarbeiten, bevor die Katastrophe eintritt, damit wir alle schnell wissen, welchen Nutzen wir bringen können.

Gemäß dem Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) müssen lokale Notfallplanungskomitees (LEPCs) einen Notfallplan entwickeln, den Plan jährlich überprüfen und den Bürgern Informationen über Chemikalien in der Gemeinde zur Verfügung stellen. Pläne werden von LEPCs unter Beteiligung der Interessengruppen entwickelt.

ARES (Amateur Radio Emergency Services) und RACES (Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services) sind beide Amateurfunk-Kommunikationsorganisationen, die in Zeiten kritischer Kommunikationsbedürfnisse eingesetzt werden. ARES ist Teil der ARRL-Organisation, während RACES eine von der FCC genehmigte Organisation ist.

INTERNSHIP

Jefferson County Emergency Management Agency’s (JCEMA) (unpaid) internship program provides real-world knowledge and experience in an all-hazards emergency management environment. Our internship program seeks qualified graduate and undergraduate students who are majoring in a wide variety of fields including emergency management, public affairs/communications, public health, public safety, public administration, non-profit and many others

bottom of page

• Jeffco EMA on Facebook
  • Jeffco EMA on Twitter
  • Jeffco EMA on YouTube
  • Jeffco EMA on Instagram

Citizen Engagement

A community that is aware, prepared and engaged is resilient and will better weather the storm of any disaster.

The Jefferson County EMA, along with all our government and non-government partners, encourage you to get engaged in public safety.  No government can prepare and keep safe every citizen, therefore it is incumbent upon YOU to engage yourself and your family.  You make the effort; we can help.

CERT is a 24-hour certification course featuring instruction in general preparedness, disaster medical operations, fire safety and suppression, light search and rescue, disaster psychology, and terrorism.  Typically taught one night a week for two months, this course will prepare you to be a part of the solution when a disaster strikes. 

Volunteer Firefighters are the unsung heroes of our communities.  Most of unincorporated Jefferson County is serviced by either all-volunteer or combination volunteer/paid firefighters.  It is this group of citizen first responders that stand between you and disaster, and they need your help.

In an emergency, you want to have multiple means of receiving critical, timely information.  In Jefferson County, we have just that.  Whether it's through our Mass Notification System (Everbridge), Outdoor Warning Sirens, Social Media or other alerts, we'll make sure you get the information needed to make a sound decision.

The Voluntary Organizations Active in Disasters (VOAD) group is a consortium of both for- and not-for-profit businesses, agencies, community action groups and others.  The goal of this group is to work together before the disaster strikes, so that we all know what benefits we can bring to the table quickly.

Under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) must develop an emergency response plan, review the plan annually, and provide information about chemicals in the community to citizens. Plans are developed by LEPCs with stakeholder participation.

ARES (Amateur Radio Emergency Services) and RACES (Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services) are both amateur radio communications organizations utilized during times of critical communications needs.  ARES is a part of the ARRL organization, while RACES is a sanctioned organization through the FCC.